Home > Events, Fashion, From Stinalina's closet > Inspiration (Shoe Fair # 7)

Inspiration (Shoe Fair # 7)

Inspiration can come from everywhere. Yesterday, while chatting with my designer-friend Falesyia, she commented on how she had just seen some strawberry and grape face tattoos/makeups and that had given her the idea for a new design. Today, I stumbled upon RL fashion blogger Keiko Lynn and this post gave me the idea for the outfit I’m wearing.

Luckily enough, today I also decided to visit Homespun, because I’ve heard people talk about Homespun’s nice dresses. Normally, this dress wouldn’t be me but paired with these shoes I got at Shoe Fair and my amazing leather jacket from Emery, this dress was perfect. (Note: Homespun is where Tiny Bird used to be so if you still have some LMs for Tiny Bird, they now work for Homespun.)

See, the thing is, I often see bloggers say they only blog things they love, even though they receive review items from everywhere. But I sometimes find that if you step out of your box, you can create an amazing outfit around something you don’t love on it’s own but which works in an ensemble. So I might blog something I don’t love on it’s own if it works in the whole, I’m going for – and that’s why I often use pieces of outfits and not entire outfits and then mix it all up. That said, of course I’m not going to blog something I hate – but I do try to see the possibilities in things.

So – since we’re still in Shoe Fair frenzy, I thought I would comment on the shoes. The shoes are from Bottle Bird, a new to me store. I loved these shoes in the fair but they don’t come across as quite as amazing after I’ve put them on. Maybe it was just me expecting something a bit different or I’m remembering wrong since I can’t quite put my finger on what it is. And I still like them, it’s just not total all out love – but they work for the outfit. Maybe I’m just put a bit off by the language used in the NC that came with them:

They have been designed to fit a size 0 foot and only come with alpha masks to hide the foot. We don’t use Invisi-prims because we don’t like them. If you are using a legacy viewer that doesn’t support alpha layers don’t buy them or suck it up and download a viewer that supports alpha layers.

I don’t know. Maybe it’s just me being too iffy or something. It just annoyed me a bit.

I also bought a pair of combat boots from Bottle Bird – I’ll feature them in a later post.

What I’m wearing:

  • Dress: Party Dress (Birds & Berries) – Posy Trudeau for Homespun
  • Jacket: Doly Rocket Jacket – sunami Beck for Emery
  • Stockings: Loose socks – plain dirty (blue) – flexagons Villota for +mocha+ (Available at Culture Shock)
  • Shoes: Fritillari – Filthy Adored for Bottle Bird (Available at  Shoe Fair)
  • Necklace: Wabi-sabi Necklace – Zoe Duvall for Geisha Dreams (From the Pacific Relief Fundraiser)
  • Makeup: LesMakeups_Lashes – monica Outlander for Miamai
  • Hair: Shannon (cranberry) – Truth Hawks for Truth Hair
  • Eyes: ‘Sunrise’ Eyes (Deep blue) – Ikon Innovia for FASHISM
  • Skin: Emma (fair, 06 Slate – copper brows – freckles)) – Tuli Asturias for Tuli
  • Shape: Bodyshape 1 (Avie) – Emilia Redgrave for REDGRAVE (modified by me)

I want to finish with a bit about the necklace. I bought it at the Pacific Relief Fundraiser earlier this year and I haven’t worn it before. I liked it because the straight lines of this together with the leather jacket gave a bit more edge to the softness of the flowery skirt and the soft hair do. The necklace came with this notecard explaining the meaning of wabi-sabi and it’s very interesting:

Wabi-sabi Necklace

Inspired by the Japanese philosophy or aesthetic of wabi-sabi, this necklace was created by one of the GD team, Zoe Duvall. Drops of molten silver suspended on red chords. An elegant and simple statement.

“Wabi-sabi is the most conspicuous and characteristic feature of traditional Japanese beauty and it occupies roughly the same position in the Japanese pantheon of aesthetic values as do the Greek ideals of beauty and perfection in the West.”

[1] “if an object or expression can bring about, within us, a sense of serene melancholy and a spiritual longing, then that object could be said to be wabi-sabi.”

[2] “[Wabi-sabi] nurtures all that is authentic by acknowledging three simple realities: nothing lasts, nothing is finished, and nothing is perfect.”

So the look of this necklace still gives the extra dimension to the visual part of the outfit that I was looking for and the notecard gives a spiritual and intellectual dimension and I’m really happy that Geisha Dreams added this information. I love to shop and learn!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

