Home > Project Endless Possibilities, Virtual Identity > Project Endless Possibilities (23): Haruhi Pfeffer

Project Endless Possibilities (23): Haruhi Pfeffer

(Today, Haruhi Pfeffer graces the blog. You can read more about the project as well as find the previous entries here.)

  • Does your avatar look like or represent your real life self?

My avatar is not an extact copy of me, but I did base her appearance on how I look.

  • Do you make significant changes to your avatar often?

I have only changed my shape a few times. When I first started using SL I was significantly smaller, but after constantly being confused for a child avatar, I bit the bullet and made myself a bit taller.

  • Why have you chosen to have your avatar look like he/she/it does?

I didn’t want to be a generic avatar. When I created Haruhi the only avatars that were small tended to be child avatars. I am short in real life and I am not at all thin. I wanted a curvy shape. I wanted to be different and still be true to who I really am.

  • Do you have a signature look?

I tend to dress the way I would in real life, minus allowing Haruhi to wear dresses. I never wear them personally.

  • Is it important to you how your avatar looks?

I don’t think that my avatar needs to be the most beautiful, but I like being unique and I think it is important to have Haruhi as a representation of myself.

  • Do you have some basics that you always wear (certain color of hair, eyes or …)?

I am really stuck on Curio skins right now. I have several different types of the same general skintone.

The only things I always have on are my tomato and my collar.

  • What does it mean to you how other avatars look? Do you avoid talking to some avatars because of their appearance?

I think everyone is guilty of judging some people based on their avatar’s looks. I love seeing unique shapes and looks, though. I try to be open minded and accepting of all kinds.

  • How has your perspective on your avatar and your thoughts about your appearance changed since you first joined Second Life?

I really never expected to gain anything from my avatar, but I have grown to be more accepting on my own apperance because of her. I think that when people compliment her I feel a bit of pride in myself.

  • Has Second Life influenced your Real Life in any way?

Second Life itself hasn’t influenced my life, but the people that I have made real connections with have. I formed some really great relationships in game and I regard those people as highly as anyone that I see face to face on a daily basis.

  • How do you view your avatar? Is it just a tool to be able to navigate SL, is it an aspect of your persona, a virtual representation of you or maybe your best friend?

I see Haruhi as a part of me. She is a representation of myself. Even if I turn her into another creature or a hybrid or whatever else, she is still a piece of me.

(Photos by Haruhi Pfeffer.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

