Home > Project Endless Possibilities, Virtual Identity > Project Endless Possibilities (18): Gobstopper Xomotron

Project Endless Possibilities (18): Gobstopper Xomotron

(This entry – the 18th in the series – brings you a bit of a different looking avatar. Meet Gobstopper Xomotron. You can read more about the project as well as find the previous entries here.)


  • Does your avatar look like or represent your real life self?
No, he is a modified version of Viewer 2’s cardboard robot. I dress fairly ridiculously in real life, so I suppose he is a bit like that (ridiculous)
  • Do you make significant changes to your avatar often?
As a second life worker (rather than “player”), I would like to but don’t have much time for it. Lots of plans, but all of which stay in the non-human arena.
  • Why have you chosen to have your avatar look like he/she/it does?
I really really didn’t want to look like a bored, 20 year old goth model, with extremely salon-y hair. Since realistically Second Life isnt going to be populated by mall dwellers in middle america (since they wouldn’t generally choose to depict themselves as they are), I prefer more eclectic appearances..
  • Do you have a signature look?
My relative prim incompetence and UV texture mapping (in) ability dictates that I’ll be sticking to some fairly lo-res shapes
  • Is it important to you how your avatar looks?
Yes – and also understanding some aspects of rendering avatars (as compared to other objects in SL) is important for my work here, so spending some freetime modifiying outfits etc pays dividends for my work as well.
  • Do you have some basics that you always wear (certain color of hair, eyes or …)?
Yes – I like being a bit impactful, sized in a disparate way and must have some glow.
  • What does it mean to you how other avatars look? Do you avoid talking to some avatars because of their appearance?
I think some avatars avoid talking to me because I break the human metaphor a bit, but for everyone of those I think I probably get an IM from someone who likes the glow-y robot look. As far as anyone else’s appearance – I can’t say it matters, though I’d probably skip a conversation with a guy in a Hitler costume. 

  • How has your perspective on your avatar and your thoughts about your appearance changed since you first joined Second Life?
After a bit I realized it (second life) was a nice opportunity to reach a bit further in appearance without much consequence; i.e. bling out in a hollywood way, or walk around with a steampunk top hat – most importantly a place, online, that was immersive (at least a bit) and had real people, but no levelling up. So I guess i’d say that appearance in SL is a lot like appearance in RL, just amped up, because SL is 95% visual.
  • Has Second Life influenced your Real Life in any way?
The music certainly has leaked back in, and I find myself a bit more aware of global culture.
  • How do you view your avatar? Is it just a tool to be able to navigate SL, is it an aspect of your persona, a virtual representation of you or maybe your best friend?
A vehicle primarily – and I think some persona leaks in through the seams.
(Photo by Gobstopper Xomotron.)
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

