Home > Project Endless Possibilities, Uncategorized, Virtual Identity > Project Endless Possibilities (16): Softpaw Sommer

Project Endless Possibilities (16): Softpaw Sommer

(Entry no. 16 in Project Endless Possibilities. You can read more about the project as well as find the previous entries here.)


  • Does your avatar look like or represent your real life self?

It does in that I am female, have red hair and green eyes both in RL and SL. And well, every so often fairy wings and a cat tail.  And a few folk have said I look like my avatar after having seen pictures.
It also does in that it represents my inner self. I entered Sl wanting to achieve a very specific look. A friend that has been in SL much longer then I have been whisked me from the Orientation Island and bought all of my main avatar parts for me on day one.

Softpaw on rezday, after being outfitted by a friend

  • Do you make significant changes to your avatar often?

Not counting hair styles and clothing, with one notable recent exception, no. I do every so often pop into none Anthro kitty forms or a dragon form but 99.9% of the time I stay in the same base avatar.  Even when I slap on a mer tail or a centaur body I keep the feline aspects. And all none anthro kitty forms still have my wings.
While stuck on an Orientation Island a furry friend, who I have known all of my internet life, learned that I was on SL and logged on and he Tped me away to Luskwood. As I was having issues rezing stuff at the time, needed a graphics card, he then took a hold of my account for about an hour and bought me the white luskwood house cat, wings from seven’s selection, some red hair and a green fantasy dress. He colored the house cat cream for me and fixed up a skin to match and that was my look since.
The recent big change was switching my “base” avatar from a Luskwood to an Anthroxtacy feline. This happened in late January after a lot of thought on if I wanted to change my look. Luskwood wasn’t updating its house cats any time soon and I felt I wanted to switch to a avatar that had more “bells and whistles” on it then the luskwood did. I had picked up several different house cat avatars to compare and, after asking a few others their thoughts, settled on the Anthroxtacy House cat as my new base form. I even got a custom skin to match the cream color I use.
There have been a few minor changes, I went through about three different tails the first year before I settled on the one I use now. But other then that, the base avatar has been unchanged since my rez date till I made the switch to the AX cat.
My AO is also a big part of my look. I started with a normal human ao but once makers started doing Fairy ao’s I got one of those. Added poses from several different fae themed Aos and thanks to Phoenix viewer built in ao that lets me have more animations then a hud I have a very personalized AO. There is no other one exactly like it in SL.

  • Why have you chosen to have your avatar look like he/she/it does?

As I stated before, my avatar represents my inner self. While I don’t run in the “furry” circles, I am one. I identified as a cat way back in the 80’s. The fairy side came out in the late 90’s.
When the fairy side came out I felt, well whole. When I learned of SL through CSI I knew it would be a place I would enjoy as I could make my avatar look like what I see in my minds eye as myself. Which I can’t do in other games. Just as through my artwork. But Sl lets me feel like I am really “living” through my avatar.

  • Do you have a signature look?

I wear gowns and fairy outfits mostly. Rarely pants or jeans. Except while fishing, as fishing in a big gown looks silly.

  • Is it important to you how your avatar looks?

Extremely. I feel out of sorts if I have to switch to a more “human” looking one for say, low lag reasons.

  • Do you have some basics that you always wear (certain color of hair, eyes or ..)?

Well, I think I’ve answered this one already. But to be specific here are the details

Anthroxtacy white cat tinted cream with a custom matching skin also in cream
Tail = ^..^ Purrrrfect Kitties^..^, White Neko Tail With Stars – tinted cream
Wings = Seven’s Selection’s, Dotty Butterfly Wings in Purple
Eyes are always green and hair is always red. The exact shade depends on the reds of the hair creator but it will be a darker red always.
I also wear a LOT of pink. Followed by purple and blue. Rarely will you find me in black.

One of me and my husband Adar. Like me his Avatar also represents his inner self.  he’s also in a luskwood avatar and usual wears an Indiana Jones outfit. I put him in a blakopal design for this shot though. He hasn’t found a more updated anthro dragon form he likes. Most look to spikey and mean.

  • What does it mean to you how other avatars look? Do you avoid talking to some avatars because of their appearance?

It really doesn’t bother me a bit what others look like. Secondlife offers you SUCH a variety of things you can look like. I’ve had conversations with humans, dragons, other furs, Bunnies and even a lamp! What ever others want to look like is their choice and I love seeing what people can come up with.

  • How has your perspective on your avatar and your thoughts about your appearance changed since you first joined Second Life?

Very little. I don’t act “feline” I just act like me. How I am in Sl is pretty much how I am in RL.

RL: I play a fairy at several Ren faires in the Mid west. A fairy that, wait for it, can turn into a cat and has a pink cat tail.

  • Has Second Life influenced your Real Life in any way?

I’ve noticed sometimes I’ll sway and spin like my AO makes me do.   And I babbled about it on livejournal so much I had to make a secondlife journal just for my babbling.

  • How do you view your avatar? Is it just a tool to be able to navigate SL, is it an aspect of your persona, a virtual representation of you or maybe your best friend?

My avatar is so very personal. As I said before it is a virtual representation of my inner self.

(Photos by Softpaw Sommer)

To read more about Softpaw – or see more pictures – visit one of the sites below:

Realm of the Fae Kitty, Softpaw’s Personal page. http://www.softpaw.org/
Softpaw’s Secondlife Journal. http://softpaw-sommer.livejournal.com/
Softpaw’s flicker page. http://www.flickr.com/photos/softpaw_sommer/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

