Home > Project Endless Possibilities, Virtual Identity > Project Endless Possibilities (13): Synnastyr Kuhr

Project Endless Possibilities (13): Synnastyr Kuhr

(Synnastyr Kuhr, a furry, is today’s participant in the project. You can read more about the project as well as find the previous entries here.)


  • Does your avatar look like or represent your real life self?

Not at all since I am a ring tail cat.  I am a furry and also wanted a unique look all my own.  My chosen fursona is a Cheshire.  I have not found one that suits my fancy for a Cheshire avatar so settled for a very high quality yet simple ring tail cat avatar that I liked the look of.

  • Do you make significant changes to your avatar often?

Never in how he looks physically and very few times in the styles of clothes worn.  Discriminating taste or picky bitch, the choice is yours.  His progression started almost 6 years ago, 2 of which I have been active in Second Life.  At first he was going to be a Shadow Run elf samurai then after the S hit the H I took a break and was caught up in another interest.  It was not until I met who is now one of my dearest friends that I decided to give SL another try.  By then I came out of the furry closet kind of.  I never bothered hiding being a furry but never bothered with any other part of the fandom until now.

  • Why have you chosen to have your avatar look like he/she/it does?

To tell the truth I didn’t really.  I had certain guidelines so my avatar would reflect my attitude and once I set the eyes and found the perfect hair I sat back and was surprised how quickly he had developed and how fitting that development was.  Now I can not think of any other way he should look.

  • Do you have a signature look?

He is my only look.

  • Is it important to you how your avatar looks?

Yes.  How one bothers to wear anything in SL or in RL reflects on what type of person they are.

  • Do you have some basics that you always wear (certain color of hair, eyes or …)?

Cherry red tipped mohawk with purple narrowed eyes.

  • What does it mean to you how other avatars look? Do you avoid talking to some avatars because of their appearance?

It means nothing to me since I do not know the reason behind the way they look.  I take them at face value and adjust accordingly as time goes on.

  • How has your perspective on your avatar and your thoughts about your appearance changed since you first joined Second Life?

Dealing with the Anonymous Syndrome that any virtual reality creates has left me more tolerant of others and the things they may do.  One who offends me may merely be relaxing and blowing off steam because they have had a bad day.  Now that does not mean I am excusing or condoning their actions.  In fact by being more tolerant and refusing to play along with such shenanigans I find my own level of satisfaction as proven by a couple of IM’s I received after moving on to other tasks away from where I was being accosted.

  • Has Second Life influenced your Real Life in any way?

I have found some friends that have been truer friends to me than those I have had where I live.  These friends and I talk now whether or not we are on SL.  They look forward to seeing me log in as much as I look forward to seeing them do so.

  • How do you view your avatar? Is it just a tool to be able to navigate SL, is it an aspect of your persona, a virtual representation of you or maybe your best friend?

There are four words I use to describe myself.  Dark Cuddly Playful Romantic.  My avatar fits those terms exactly.

(Photos by Synnastyr Kuhr)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

