Home > Project Endless Possibilities, Virtual Identity > Project Endless Possibilities (9): Junior Oppenbaum

Project Endless Possibilities (9): Junior Oppenbaum

(And here I bring you the 9th installment in the Project Endless Possibilities series. You can read more about the project as well as find the previous entries here.)

  • Does your avatar look like or represent your real life self?

Yes I try to make my avatar as close to my own looks as possible without spending a lot of time or money.

  • Do you make significant changes to your avatar often?

I very seldomly make changes to my avatar. It only happens if I come across something that better represents me than what I am currently using.

  • Why have you chosen to have your avatar look like he/she/it does?

My avatar looks the way he does because I am who I am, I do not pretend to be anything that I’m not.

  • Do you have a signature look?

No, I don’t think so.

  • Is it important to you how your avatar looks?

It is not important to me how he looks. If I am chatting with someone then I would hope that they are chatting with me and not just the pixels on the screen.

  • Do you have some basics that you always wear (certain color of hair, eyes or …)?

Yes I do have a hat that was given to me by one of my oldest and best friend in SL, I always have it on.

  • Are there avatars you don’t talk to/are afraid to talk to because of their looks?

I do judge avatars on their looks. I will stop to talk to different avatars if they look as though they are into something that I know nothing about. An avatars looks have never prevented me from chatting to them. What stops me from talking with them is the language they are using, can they talk without f this and f that? Sorry that’s another topic.

  • How has your perspective on your avatar and your thoughts about your appearance changed since you first joined Second Life?

When I first came to SL I had decided that I was going to be happy with the stock avatar, however after being here for awhile it became quite apparent that I needed to upgrade in order to have any interaction with people already here. Noobs seem to be help worthy but not chat worthy.

  • Has Second Life influenced your Real Life in any way?

SL definitely has influenced RL for me. I am a very private person and do not like having my name out there, but having an alias has worked out for exploring the web. My avatar has his own email and has joined other forums on the net allowing me to stay invisible.

  • How do you view your avatar? Is it just a tool to be able to navigate SL, is it an aspect of your persona, a virtual representation of you or maybe your best friend?

My avatar is just a tool and visual representation that allows me to interact with the virtual world. That is how I view all the avatars I meet, they are just pixels on my screen.

(Photo by Junior Oppenbaum)


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

