Home > Project Endless Possibilities, Virtual Identity > Project Endless Possibilities (8): Kathy Emerald

Project Endless Possibilities (8): Kathy Emerald

(And here’s Kathy. Kathy is the 8th participant in the project – read more about the project and find links to the previous entries here.)

What Kathy’s wearing:

Hair: DrLife HyeKyo

Hair ribbons: Rokumeika N very berry

Skin: LAQ Isabel

Eyes: LAQ Dazzling Marine

Dress/gloves/stole: Chichi Lolita Chocolate Edition

Stockings: Insolence Melanie

Black Boots: GField Short lace-up black

 

 

 

 

 

 

• Does your avatar look like or represent your real life self?
Not to begin with. I’m really into SL fashion and wearing outfits I couldn’t/wouldn’t in RL, so I would change my avatar to suit the clothing style I was into on any particular day. As time went by, I reached a point where I thought I’d just be ‘me’ regardlessof outfit/mood and ‘take myself’ into SL to experience different things. So, I recently tried to get a look as close to myself RL as I could (with my limited editing skills!).Now it feels like I’m there in SL and experiencing things, rather than ‘pretending’ to act out another persona.

• Do you make significant changes to your avatar often?
Not now. I change my hair and makeup to suit my outfit and/or the occasion. I do have a skirt shape I use for those dresses that attach to spine/left pec which, due to the way they fall, sometimes show your backside!

• Why have you chosen to have your avatar look like he/she/it does?
I think many avatars in SL, especially female ones, can look a little ‘cloned’, if that’s not unkind. They are off the shelf looks that are very glamorous, and very similar. I would rather look less stereotypically attractive and more uniquely ‘me’. Interestingly, since taking this approach, less people approach me ‘cold’. However, those that do approach me seem more interested in the person beneath the avatar than the avatar itself.

• Do you have a signature look?
Hmmm. It depends how you define ‘signature’. One thing that I suppose my friends would all comment on is that I have a particular liking for clothes by Japanese designers. I know it’s wrong to stereotype, but I’ve found that broadly speaking, Japanese designers in SL take great care about the quality of their designs. So, in terms of ‘signature’ look, I’d say something Japanese, and usually with lace somewhere!!

• Is it important to you how your avatar looks?
Yes, I’d say it is. As with RL, people form impressions of you based upon how you look. I think it’s true what they say about job interviews – it’s the first 30 seconds that have the biggest impression, and much of that is about how you look. It’s a sad truth.I think it’s similar in some ways in SL. People will talk to you if they are interested in the way you look. Your avatar can say a lot about you. Having said that, lots of people change their avatar & look on a regular basis and I think that makes them more difficult to define. So, with me, what you see is what you get!!

• Do you have some basics that you always wear (certain color of hair, eyes or…)?
Yes. I don’t change my eyes now. I’m happy with them. Similarly my shape. I’ll change my skin only to vary makeup. I’ll change hair colour/style sometimes depending on mood/
occasion. One pet hate is ‘glitch pants’. I try my hardest not to wear them, as I think they take away from a realistic ‘fashion’ experience. Some skirts/dresses require them, and I’ll
tend not to buy them unless they’re particularly stunning. I rarely wear jeans or trousers in RL, so I rarely wear them here. So, my basics usually include a skirt or dress.

What Kathy’s wearing:

Hair: DrLife HyeKyo

Skin: LAQ Isabel

Eyes: LAQ Dazzling Marine

Dress/Jacket: Ambrosia ‘For Lovers’ pink

Shoes: Shiny Things: Kelly Sandals – poweder pink

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

• How has your perspective on your avatar and your thoughts about your appearance changed since you first joined Second Life?
When I started, I saw my avatar as a ‘character’ in a game. I have now come to see her as a representation of ‘me’ in SL. So, I do care about my apprearance. I want people to know the real me. In some ways it’s easier to do that SL than RL due to the anonymity of SL. As with RL, our apprearance sends out messages to everyone we meet. I think our SL appearance does the same. The main difference in SL, I believe, is that you can send messages that say “this is who I am today. I might be different tomorrow. In RL, it’s a bit more difficult to do that!

• Has Second Life influenced your Real Life in any way?
If anything, it’s helped restore my faith in human kindness. People in SL are, generally speaking, kind, helpful, caring and sometimes very selfless. Maybe that’s because SL attracts that kind of person, maybe it’s because SL takes away some of the barriers that RL puts up around us that prevent us from displaying those things openly (?). I do think one factor is that there’s no ‘aim’ to the game.It’s not a competition. It’s just an amazing place with lots of interesting people to meet.
• How do you view your avatar? Is it just a tool to be able to navigate SL, is it an aspect of your persona, a virtual representation of you or maybe your best friend?
For me, my avatar is an aspect of my persona. It is me walking around in a virtual world. I find it’s a much better experience in SL (for me) to just ‘be myself’.In some ways, my avatar is an extension of my RL. For example, I can wear things and do things in SL that I would never consider in RL, so it gives me more freedom to express my (obviously repressed) self!

(Photos by Kathy Emerald)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

