Home > Project Endless Possibilities, Virtual Identity > Project Endless Possibilities – thoughts after the first week

Project Endless Possibilities – thoughts after the first week

A week have gone by since I officially started Project Endless Possibilities. So far, three entries have been published and they have each given different perspectives and insights on the thoughts that are put into our beloved avatars. I’m so grateful to the participants – thank you!

As with any good investigation, once  you learn more, you also find more you want to know and you find more questions to ask. I’ve already added the question What does it mean to you how other avatars look? Do you avoid talking to some avatars because of their appearance? I find that some avatars for some reason intimidates me – I’m not quite sure why yet. I usually read profiles before talking to people and sometimes the profile increases my intimidation, other times not. Sometimes the other person starts talking to me – and then more often than not, always in fact, I realize that there was no reason to be intimidated. I know it’s a silly feeling given that we can be whatever we want and change in a heartbeat so I could meet the same person half a minute later and feel instantly drawn to him/her. From Stacey Finesmith’s answers however, I can read I’m not the only one who sometimes feel that way about other avis – she’s just on the receiving end of it.

Now, a few other things have become apparent to me while reading the first answers.

I think it would be interesting to hear if people have changed their perspective on their avatar since they first joined Second Life. I think it’s impossible not to – but how the perspective has changed is the interesting thing. It seems that a lot of people start out in “the whorish phase” and then many move on to something else. It also seem like people either start out trying everything at once and then settling down with one or just a few favorite avatars or that they start out very conservative with one avatar and then it evolves into a whole parade of different avatars. And then of course, there are people who stick with one thing the entire time. The interesting thing here is of course the thought process behind all three – and behind any other kind of evolvement. And what else has changed about perspective since the first tentative steps in Second Life?

Another thing I’m thinking about after reading the answers is how Second Life influence Real Life. I’ve been asking people about their avatar looks like or represent their Real Life self – that is, does your Real Life self influence your Second Life self? But what about the other way around? Have your Second Life self influenced your Real Life Self? Do you dress differently now because of the way you dress in Second Life? Are you participating in activities you didn’t before you discovered them in Second Life? Have you changed your haircut based on your avatar’s favorite style? Did you meet your significant other because of Second Life?

I also think it’s interesting to dive deeper into how we view our avatars – not just their appearance. To move around in Second Life, we of course need the avatars. But to most people, I think the avatar is so much more than that. But how much more and in what way?

So because of this, I’m adding three questions:

  • How has your perspective on your avatar and your thoughts about your appearance changed since you first joined Second Life?
  • Has Second Life influenced your Real Life in any way?
  • How do you view your avatar? Is it just a tool to be able to navigate SL, is it an aspect of your persona, a virtual representation of you or maybe your best friend?

I do realize that I can’t keep adding questions – but the project is still in the beginning phase so for now, I think it’s okay to add questions when new ideas surface.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

