Home > Art, Fashion, From Stinalina's closet, Stinalina Dreamscape, Virtual Identity > This is me … and this is what I want to do!

This is me … and this is what I want to do!

When I began to really spend time in Second Life for about a week or so ago, I took care to cover my tracks. I wanted an avatar who in no way could be connected to me. I was a bit annoyed that I couldn’t get rid of my old username and just be Bunny Libris, but I wanted to start using SL and for some reason I couldn’t create a new avatar called Bunny Libris and that was the name I had decided on. So I logged into my 3 year old, unused, account and started exploring as Bunny Libris. I set up a blog as Bunny Libris. I set up a new email called Bunny Libris. I created an avatar who in no way resembled me. And then another one – even further from me. And a third one – also very, very far from me.

Then why did I suddenly tonight start spending time creating myself, a virtual avatar who looked like me? Why did I go shopping for Doc Martens, an Iphone and a Moleskine notebook??? Why did I spend so much time at Truth Hair to try to find my own hair when I’ve time and time again have stated that my avatar is blonde?

Well, the thing is, I want to enter Second Life. When I started writing this blog post, I wanted to create an virtual version of me,  as close to the real me as I could possibly get. So I went and looked at blogs for hair and skin, I looked at all of the Truth Hair, I tried on skin after skin… But somewhere along the way, I decided this wasn’t right. Yes, I want to be me. I want to be in SL. But not exactly me. A better me. The me I want to be – with a few stable things. I have blue eyes IRL and even though I’ve always wanted green eyes, I’m never gonna get it so I’ll just have to find the fiercest and prettiest blue eyes on the grid. Second, I have red hair. As long as I have that in RL, my virtual self will also have red hair – but with the freedom to change it! Fashion wise, there are some things that I wouldn’t wear – even though I love the look. So this virtual me will be the casual type. I don’t know why and I don’t know what I want to do on the grid. No idea … or maybe a small idea.But first – let’s meet me:

What I’m wearing (yes, SL fashion is still something I care deeply about!):

  • Shape: Emma – by Tuli Asturias for Tuli
  • Skin: Emma (fair, 03 spring) – by Tuli Asturias for Tuli
  • Eyes: Shine Covet Clarity – by Brandy Rasmussen for Exile
  • Hair: Horizon (red 09) – by Elikapeka Tiramisu for Elikatira
  • Blouse: Grandad Vest (Long LGrey Halfopen) – by Nena Janus for *League*
  • Jeans: Ripped78s (Dark Warm Blue) – by Nena Janus for *League*
  • Stockings: Opaque Yellow Amortentia Stockings – by Allegory Malaprop for Schadenfreude
  • Boots: Docs (8 hole F Black) – by by Gospel Voom for Gos
  • Scarf: Wrap-Stripes Cool – by Nena Janus for *League*

Almost all this is  bought in stores I don’t use to frequent – but there’s a difference in taste between what I used to be and what I am now. Apparently, my real self would go crazy in *League*! At least my virtual self did – and we have quite similar tastes 😉 This doesn’t mean that I won’t buy the clothes I used to – I still need them, as you will see below!

Now, what do I want to do with this new avatar? I’m not sure. I have an idea. See, a couple of days ago I posted this pic:

This is what I want to do. I want to create pictures like this. I’ve chosen the shape and skin, the eyes and hair, the dress, stockings, socks and boots, put it all together, then found the perfect location and used a pose I also chose. So I’ve combined a lot of different things to create this image – which I love. But I’ve created none of the things you see on the picture. I just put it together.

So is this art? I don’t know. I really hope it is because I want to do this. I want to combine my love of SL shopping with SL exploring and then create these types of pictures where I try to do more than just show the location or the clothes but tell a story with it. I want to create pictures like this because it makes me happy. Seeing this picture for the first time really made me happy. I loved how it all came together – at least it came together for me.

Is there anybody out there having thoughts on this? Anybody reading? I feel like I’m calling out into the void and I would really appreciate if there was somebody out there who had some comments.

“Is there anybody out there?” – Pink Floyd

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

